Press Releases : Meru Cabs and Hotel Surya Palace, Vadodara win at 'IT User Awards 2008'

Meru Cabs and Hotel Surya Palace, Vadodara win at 'IT User Awards 2008'
December 15, 2008 10:29 AM

Meru Cabs and Hotel Surya Palace, Vadodara were adjudged the best companies with respect to IT implementation in the Travel and Tourism categories, respectively, at the Sun Microsystem, NASSCOM, CNBC-TV18 'IT User Awards 2008'. The awards instituted by NASSCOM, the Indian IT industry's apex body and CNBC-TV18, a business channel, were conferred on organisations that have made use of IT to create and deliver value. Jairam Ramesh, Minister of State, Department of Commerce and Minister of State, Ministry of Power and Peter Ryan, Global VP, Sun Microsystems felicitated the winners at an award ceremony.

The IT User Awards' primary objective is to support and motivate the adoption of IT in Indian companies to create strategic advantage, optimise costs, develop synergies across businesses, communicate in real time and enhance customer service standards. Neel Chowdhury, Vice President - Marketing, CNBC-TV18 and CNBC AWAAZ said, "IT awareness and related developments have been taking place in India at a rapid pace. They continue to grow the world over as businesses and governments have truly understood how technology is able to deliver greater efficiency and higher productivity. 'IT User Awards' aim is to acknowledge the hard work of various sectors that have moved to using IT for their work and also to motivate others to join them".

The three phase evaluation process was powered by NASSCOM and a research house, The Neilson Company. In the first phase, the awards methodology was driven by a survey amongst India Inc's biggest companies; the survey brought to light the company's IT adoption/application strategy - goals, investments, the adoption process, advantages created and finally, the learning. In the second phase, the survey finalised the top three to five nominees across categories from overall entries received. In the third phase, the winners were decided on the basis of stringent evaluation by jury members that included Ashish Tandon, CFO, Hi-Tech Gears Limited; Kiran Karnik, Former President, NASSCOM; Som Mittal, President, NASSCOM; Deepak B Phatak, Faculty, IIT Bombay; Ajai Chowdhry, Founder, HCL and Chairman and CEO, HCL Infosystems; Arun Maira, Director, Patni Computers; Prasanto K Roy, Chief Editor, Cyber Media Publications and Saurabh Srivastava, Trustee, NASSCOM Foundation.

The awards were presented to companies in various verticals including retail and logistics, pharmaceuticals, healthcare, auto, manufacturing, banking, finance, insurance, travel and tourism. They highlighted PSU initiatives in a special category.


Please enter valid name
Please enter valid mobile no
Please enter valid Email id
Please enter valid comment

Feeling Lucky Today?

To avail these offers, download Meru Cabs app here: